Home Page

Larklands Infant School

Reach for the moon, even if you miss you will land among the stars


Equality and Diversity

Promoting the

Protected Characteristics

at Larklands


At Larklands Infant and Nursery School, we believe that it is important that all children gain an understanding of the world they are growing up in, and learn how to live alongside, and show respect for, a diverse range of people. We work to ensure that our children understand that;


  • There are no outsiders at Larklands                                   
  • Everyone is different                                                               
  • We celebrate our differences
  • We are all equal in our differences


The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. Everyone in Britain is protected. This is because the Equality Act protects people against discrimination because of the protected characteristics that we all have. Under the Equality Act, there are nine Protected Characteristics:


                                                                                       1. Age     

                          2. Disability

                   3. Gender reassignment                                                       

                          4. Race

                          5. Religion or belief

                          6. Marriage or civil partnership

                          7. Sex

                          8. Sexual orientation

                          9. Pregnancy and maternity



At Larklands, we actively promote these in an age appropriate way, and work to embed them into our schools’ ethos.

The 9 protected characteristics are actively promoted at Larklands through;


  • Our school vision statement
  • Our school core values, specifically the values of respect for everyone around you, and diversity, appreciating and celebrating the differences and similarities between us.
  • Our school behaviour policy
  • Conscious role modelling by all adults in the school community
  • Active engagement and communication with parents and carers
  • Assemblies
  • The promotion of British Values in school life
  • PSED sessions based on the Jigsaw SOW and the DMs in the EYFS
  • Developing a love of reading through a range of authors and genres
  • Discussion within curriculum subjects, taking a cross-curricular approach Learning for life and RSE lessons, as well as taking the opportunity to model respect and positivity in all lessons.
  • Promoting articulation by building appropriate language and a coherent vocabulary
  • Religious Education (RE) lessons. These are taught with the understanding that we celebrate and respect all religions and their principles. Different aspects of Christianity are taught in each year at Larklands alongside, a range of cultures in Reception and a specific focus on Judaism in KS1.
  • Art projects and visits
  • School Council
  • Educational experiences and visits
  • Real-life learning outside the classroom
  • Guest speakers
  • Developing links with the local community
  • Extra-curricular activities, after-school clubs, charity work and work within the local community
  • Safer recruitment, retention and staff development


We collect and analyse the following data to assess the impact of our Single Equality Policy. The data is recorded on our CPOMs system and the main areas we assess are:


• Admissions • Attendance • Exclusions • Outcomes • Racial incidents • Bullying incidents • Homophobic incidents and any other prejudice related incidents





Larklands Infant and Nursery School is dedicated to ensuring that all members of the school community and the wider community are treated equally, fairly, and with respect by the school and by each other.

Please see our Equality statement below for further information.

Equality Statement.